Date of Award


Document Type


Degree Name

Specialist in Education (Ed.S.)


Educational Leadership

First Advisor

Dr. Darrell Kellams

Second Advisor

Dr. Thomas A. Petrie

Third Advisor

Dr. E. L. Haselwood


In August of 1965, the Nebraska legislature passed a specific bill, LB301, creating nineteen educational service units. The expressed purpose, according to that law, was "to provide supplementary educational services" to local school districts. Educational Service Unit #3 is a multi-county unit serving four counties with twenty K-12 school districts and many rural schools. The Unit has an obligation to the local schools to provide high quality 16mm films which are designed to complement the curriculum of 3,500 teachers and 48,000 students.


Presented to the Graduate Faculty University of Nebraska at Omaha In Partial Fulfillment of the Requirements for the Degree Specialist in Education University of Nebraska at Omaha. Copyright Larry Vice May, 1984